For more information about the features on the recipe page, please see this article.
How do I duplicate a recipe?
We currently do not have a specific feature for recipe duplication, however purely by making changes to a recipe (editing it), it will make a copy of the recipe. We call this a tweak.
You can follow these steps:
1. Open a recipe in your Recipe Box.
2. Click on the pencil icon under the picture to edit the recipe
3. Make a change to the recipe - this can be changing the Title, Description, Image, Ingredients or Instructions. In this example I changed the Description.
4. Click Save and go back to your Recipe Box.
5. Click on Recently Viewed Collection. You should see both copies of the recipe:
6. The first recipe should be your tweaked recipe. It will have this note in the recipe and it will already be saved to your Recipe Box:
7. The second recipe is the original recipe. You will know that it is not yet saved to your Recipe Box because you will see the Save flag in the Collection view and, when you open it, you will see the Save button.
8. If you want to have both recipes saved to your Recipe Box, simply click the Save flag or the Save button and both will appear in your Recipe Box:
Why won't my recipe save?
We have some automated spam detection software to ensure that the content in our platform is of the highest quality. Although it is a high-quality tool, on occasion, it does have errors.
If you received one of these messages - "This recipe is flagged and under review." or "The recipe must have accurate content. Try editing the image or text.", this means that the flagged content was sent to our team's queue for review. They monitor the queue daily. Once they review and approve your content, the message will be gone, and you'll be able to share it again.
If you feel as if you are experiencing a different issue, please contact us here, and we'd be happy to help.
Why doesn't Whisk import instructions?
The Whisk platform is designed to honor the original recipe creator who has invested time and money creating the recipes we all love. This is why we intentionally do not import instructions but rather link to the original recipe source. Recipe instructions can be added manually but please note a new copy of the recipe will be created.
Why can't I find the recipe instructions?
If the website has removed a recipe or is taken down, while you can no longer link to the instructions, you can edit the recipe in your recipe box and add your own instructions. Recipe instructions can be added manually if you'd like to be on the safe side, but please note a new copy of the recipe will be created.
How can I disable ads on the recipe instructions?
The ads you see are on the source recipe site and are not managed by Whisk. We intentionally do not import recipe instructions to honor the investment of the recipe creator who earns revenue through ads on their site but rather link to the original recipe source. When you select Instructions in the recipe, we open the original recipe in an in-app browser.
Who can see my saved recipes? Are my recipe private?
The full contents of your recipe box are not viewable by anyone. There are scenarios where you share views of recipes with other users or where actions make recipes visible to others.
The most common is the scenario where others have saved the same recipe from the same site as you. In this case you will see actions like Made It! (reviews) by others, or you may also notice the same recipe in a Community that you did not share. Again, this is because multiple people have saved the same recipes.
The recipes you create from scratch with our Recipe Builder stay private until you post Made Its! or share them to Communities.
Specific to Made It!, any recipe you mark as Made It! shows up in your public Profile and, for those Whisk users who are following you, in their Activity Feeds.
Can I print recipes?
Whisk does not have the built-in option to print recipes within our apps however you can use standard browser print functionality if you are using our web app my.whisk.com.
Can I save a print or hardcopy recipe to my Whisk Recipe Box?
Some of your favorite recipes may be handwritten, in a book or in a magazine. Whisk does not currently have a feature to scan and save a print/hardcopy version of a recipe. We have tested Android Google Lens and iOS 15 Live Text and they work decently well for generating text from an image that can be pasted into our Recipe Builder.
Made It! and Reviews
Why can’t I edit a recipe that has ratings and reviews without losing access to them?
When you save a recipe someone else created or imported into Whisk, edits you make are only reflected in your recipe box. Since the recipe has been tweaked, it is no longer the same as the recipe that was initially rated or reviewed, therefore the ratings and reviews may not be relevant. With this in mind, we remove the ratings and reviews from the tweaked recipe.
Why do I need to provide a name to complete a review?
We believe communities have the opportunity to be stronger when members have real identities, so we require users to name themselves before contributing to the broader Whisk community.
Where can I view recipes I’ve made/reviewed/rated?
There are multiple places to see reviews.
You can see your rating or review by tapping on a recipe in your Recipe Box. Your rating will be highlighted on the thumbs up/thumbs down icons at the top of the recipe, and you can scroll down to the Reviews section to see your review at the top of the review list.
You will see recipe reviews in the Home Feed for recipes you have saved in your Recipe Box and for recipes in Communities you have joined.
You can see all of your recipe reviews in your Profile or all of the recipe views of others in their Profile.
Finally, there is an automated Collection in your Recipe Box titled Made It. All of the recipes you have made/reviewed/rated are there.
What are notes versus reviews?
Notes and Reviews are basically the same feature used for different purposes - notes to share about a recipe or notes with a rating (Review).
Can I edit the photo I added to my review?
While you can edit Reviews and change images, at this time you cannot edit the photo that was saved with your review. Photo editing skills available when adding a review are repositioning, changing the aspect ratio and rotating.
Can I keep the recipe I reviewed private?
Once you post a review, that review is posted to your profile. This means that both the review and the recipe are no longer private.
Can I delete my review?
Yes, to delete your review go to the 3-dots review menu and select Delete review.
If you can't find the answers to your questions here or you need more help, please contact us. We're always happy to help.